Cultural diversity

News Releases / Speeches / Declarations

African Union (AU) - Nairobi Declaration upon Culture, 2005/12/14

Convened on the occasion of the first edition of the Pan-African Cultural Congress and the fifth session of the Conference of African Ministers of Culture from December 4 to 14, 2005 in Nairobi, Kenya, African Ministers of Culture “urged their member States who would not have done so already, to ratify the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions (…), in order to promote cultural expressions and intercultural dialogue as instruments for integration and development”. Furthermore, they “ask the chairperson of the African Union Commission (AUC) to assure the follow up of these engagements, in collaboration with all parties involved, including the Regional Economic Communities ”.

African Union (AU), (in the past Organization of African Unity) includes 53 member States

  • Nairobi Declaration (Available in French only)
  • For further information, consult the December 5th issue of our Bulletin