Cultural diversity

Cultural policies and measures - Best practices

Québec/Wallonie-Bruxelles collaboration honors creators

Two awards were recently handed out as part of cooperation efforts between Québec and Wallonie-Bruxelles. The 2009 Québec/Wallonie-Bruxelles children’s literature award went to Québec author Dominique Demers for her novel L’Élu: la grande quête de Jacob Jobin (Québec Amérique) and Wallonie-Bruxelles author Jean-Marie Defossez for Envol pour le paradis (Bayard Jeunesse). The winners will respectively receive their awards at Salon du livre de Montréal in November 2009 and Foire du livre de Bruxelles in March 2010. This year the award went to “novels for young readers age 12 to 15.”

The Québec/Wallonie-Bruxelles children’s literature award is jointly given to authors and illustrators from Québec and Communauté française Wallonie-Bruxelles every two years. The award includes $3,500 (€2,600) in prize money for the authors or illustrators as well as grants of $6,000 (€3,900) to their publishers in order to promote and market the award-winning books. It seeks to foster the development, distribution, and production of French-language children’s literature in addition to boosting trade between Québec and Communauté Wallonie-Bruxelles.

Québec singer/songwriter Ariane Moffatt also took home the 2009 Rapsat-Lelièvre award for her album Tous les sens. She will officially receive the award at Les Francofolies in Spa on July 21.

The Rapsat-Lelièvre award is handed out every year by an international jury made up of experts from Québec and the French Community of Belgium. It brings with it €3,800 (approximately $5,000) in prize money from Wallonie-Bruxelles International. Ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine du Québec also awards a further $10,000 to the disc’s producer to ensure its distribution in Wallonie-Bruxelles. The award is jointly administered by Ministère des Relations internationales; Ministère de la Culture, des Communications et de la Condition féminine du Québec; and Wallonie-Bruxelles International.

The Rapsat-Lelièvre award, which is named after major artists Sylvain Lelièvre and Pierre Rapsat, seeks to foster the development and promotion of the French language, stimulate the production and distribution of French-language discs, raise awareness of artistic productions, and spur trade between Québec and Wallonie-Bruxelles in the field of song. It is awarded every year, alternating between Québec artists at Les Francofolies in Spa and artists from Wallonie-Bruxelles at Coup de cœur francophone de Montréal.


Cultural Diversity - Cultural policies and measures - Best practices - Québec/Wallonie-Bruxelles collaboration honors ...