Cultural diversity

Cultural policies and measures - Best practices

Asia Pacific Screen Awards winners announced

According to UNESCO, the winners of the inaugural Asia Pacific Screen Awards—the region’s highest accolade in cinema in 2007—were announced on November 13 at a special ceremony on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia. More than 500 film industry personalities from the Asia-Pacific region, Europe, and the United States attended the event, held under the auspices of UNESCO.

The UNESCO press release states that APSA’s international jury—headed by Indian actress and humanitarian Shabana Azmi—gave awards to films from Korea, Indonesia, Japan, Lebanon, India, Iran, Turkey, and Israel.

Best Feature Film went to “Secret Sunshine” (“Myriang”) from Korea and its star Jeon Do-yeon also received the Best Performance by an Actress Award. The Best Achievement in Directing was won by Iranian directors Rakhshan Bani-Etemad and Mohsen Abdolvahab for “Mainline” (“Khoonbazi”). Lebanon’s “Beirut Diaries: Truth, Lies, and Videos” was selected as Best Documentary Feature Film, and Turkish actor Erkan Can won the Best Performance by an Actor Award for “Takva: A Man’s Fear of God” (“Takva”).

UNESCO mentions that three special awards were also handed out. Australian director George Miller (“Mad Max”) walked off with the FIAP Award for outstanding achievement in film in the Asia-Pacific Region. The Jury Grand Prize was won by “Nightbus” (“Autobus-E Shab”) from Iran. Finally, the UNESCO Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Promotion and Preservation of Cultural Diversity Through Film went to “The Band’s Visit” (Bikur Hatizmoret) from Israel, which according to the jury “captured the very essence of cross-cultural dialog.”


Cultural Diversity - Cultural policies and measures - Best practices - Asia Pacific Screen Awards winners announced